Maria + Cory = Alexis 17 kids; Middleport, Ohio 1075 posts
Jan 3rd '13

Even with low income we has still managed to put back $1300 for our daughter. Money will continue to save for her until she is 18. She gets all of our change and sometimes I just go to the bank when I have extra money and get her rolls of dollar coins. I am big on saving for her future.

NopeNotGonnaDOIt 6 kids; Cuba 3000 posts
Jan 3rd '13

We aren't struggling, we live comfortably but are unable to save a lot, probably due more to our spending habits than our actual income. When I'm working (I'm off on maternity leave) we make roughly about 4500 a month depending on if he gets overtime. If he gets no overtime it's usually closer to 4000. He is a Tool Maker and I work service at the public library.
We rent a 3 bedroom house for 800 a month plus have two vehicles with insurance. Then there are all the bills and groceries but we usually have extra to spend on going out to eat, daycare, and the kids classes (dance, gymnastics, swimming, playgroups ect.) and other entertainment.
We don't have any credit cards so it does make it difficult to plan bigger vacations. I would love to take the kids on a plane somewhere tropical or even just drive down to Florida but we aren't great at planning stuff like that.
eta: just did some recalculation and I was off by a grand lol

Mama McNeely 2 kids; Bremerton, Washington 5117 posts
Jan 3rd '13

Before I started my business, we brought in about 3000 a month. He is military so we have insurance through them which helps. I bring in anywhere from 3000-6000 a month. It has been years of work to get to where we are now. We no longer struggle.

♛Queen Boo♛ 2 kids; United Kingdom 2535 posts
Jan 3rd '13

together we bring in 4225.78. We need to pull in the spending as going overdrawn every mth and really should not need to,

624582 Neilton, Washington 9312 posts
Jan 3rd '13

I stay at home, but DH's pay varies so there isn't a set amount each month. It varies from 3-8k a month, so we have to plan in advance for every month.


We live comfortably, but we really don't splurge on much since we always have to plan in advance.

khigh 1 child; Fort Sill, Oklahoma 8101 posts
Jan 3rd '13

DH brings in $4000 a month. I stay home until next week. We spend roughly $3500 a month, $1000 of that on pet expenses. We have a crap ton of investments and savings, so we don't worry too much about what we spend.

Mrs Mia Wallace Due August 14; 1 child; 6 angel babies; Georgia 2859 posts
Jan 3rd '13

We live off 1200 a month.
Our car and house is paid for so the only monthly bills we have are utilities, internet and our cell phones.
SO is a shift leader at a chain restaurant and I'm a SAHM, taking care of our disabled son. My son gets SSI.

кinga Due February 18 (girl); 1 child; Ontario 4606 posts
Jan 3rd '13

I bring in $2130 a month. Im a legal receptionist. I start my mat leave next week so i'll be bringing in only $1818. Once baby arrives next month, ill be bringing in $2288. I live ok (I do it on my own). Wish I had a little more money but for now im ok.

Skitti 17 kids; Grand Haven Charter Township, Michigan 1508 posts
Jan 3rd '13
Quoting TheNuge:" <blockquote><b>Quoting Missie93:</b>" We live off of around $1300 a month. We pay $500 ... [snip!] ... a lot..."</blockquote> On $1300 per month, I Di t think many couples could avoid arguing. That is very difficult."

Right, but he buys toys all the time. Xbox, PS3, computers and computer parts, etc. I usually take care of food, diapers, etc. I find ways to get by without much of his help.

Sienna's_Mommy 17 kids; Virginia 9349 posts
Jan 3rd '13

Our household bring home is about $9000. I am a claims adjuster and my husband is an electrician.

We live in a condo right now. Our mortgage is about $1200 a month. We are building a 400k home and keeping the condo as rental property.

We pay $550 a month in after school care. My car payment is $350 a month and his vehicle is paid for.

We live very comfortably and pretty much do and buy whatever we want.

I am extremely grateful that we are able to live the way we do.

Vivialopod 2 kids; Vantaa, Finland 42788 posts
Jan 3rd '13

I bring home about $1400/month. I'm a caregiver at a group home for adults with special needs. We are comfortable with a small budget for extra fun things, but it's very small, usually enough to go out to eat and to a movie or to the zoo or science center or something once a month.

I say "comfortable" because I can pay my rent and utilities, my daughter's school bill, my phone bill, my transportation bill, and my debt payments and have enough left over to buy things as needed, save a decent amount, and go do fun things with my daughter. If I added another big bill like a car or daycare for another child, we'd make all our bills but would have very little left over and it would all go towards savings and we would stop doing fun things that cost money. That would suck.

Mama to J ♥ 1 child; Atlanta, GA, United States 2039 posts
Jan 3rd '13

Maybe like $6k a month? I don't really deal with SO's income....he pays the bills and I just use my monthly income for daycare and whatever else I want. We don't intermingle too much in each other's finances unless its something we are buying together like a car.

We live very comfortably. Most of our stuff is starting to be paid off and we want to buy a house soon. Other than that....we don't have money to burn or anything....but we are able to do a lot.

♥Simply Whitney♥ Due May 10 (girl); 1 child; Australia 952 posts
Jan 3rd '13

We get $4,300 a month after tax. We do most things we want. That's with my husband working, family tax benefit from the government, and my sister in law paying a bit to live with us.

user banned 3 kids; Ontario 10942 posts
Jan 3rd '13

Its just me. And its ATM 2316 a month.

I live pretty good with that. My bills are rent food and cell phone. And that's it. Bus fair once in a blue moon. Lol

I have savings as well.

draven 5 kids; Florida 724 posts
Jan 4th '13

My husband brings in $1600 a month. We live paycheck to paycheck with no extra money. The only thing we splurge on is entertainment ( Internet, netflix, and x box live)- around $60 a month. BUT I also save about half of that a month from using the Internet for coupons, and points that purchase things.